Skip to content

Tangy Barbecue Sauce Recipe (Gluten-Free)

August 24, 2010

I’ve experimented with gluten-free barbecue recipes for some time now, and I think I finally found the perfect mixture. I don’t know about you, but I do not like my barbecue sauces sweet. I would rather it be tangy with the spicy mustard coming through in the background. I used this on my famous BBQ chicken pizza and it turned out great. Next up, I plan to smoke some ribs or grill some chicken breasts with this sauce. The options are endless. I hope this becomes a favorite in your household as much as it has in mine.

Tangy Barbecue Sauce

makes about 2 cups

Ingredients:

2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil

1 tablespoon onion powder

1 tablespoon garlic powder

1 tablespoon of chili powder + 1 teaspoon of chili powder

Heaping 1/4 teaspoon of cayenne powder

3 tablespoons brown sugar

salt

freshly ground black pepper

3 teaspoons Worcestershire sauce

1 1/2 tablespoons Dijon mustard

1/4 cup molasses

1/4 cup apple cider vinegar

1 1/4 cup ketchup

1 teaspoon balsamic vinegar

1 cup chicken stock

1 bundle of fresh thyme, about 10 sprigs tied with kitchen twine

Instructions:

Put all ingredients in a pot and bring to a quick boil. Turn down heat, and simmer on low for 20 minutes. Strain barbecue sauce through strainer to remove bits of thyme leaves & twigs; or lift bundle out and leave thyme leaves in sauce.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Renee permalink
    December 10, 2010 9:08 pm

    Worcestershire sauce is not gluten free. Did you find one that is gluten free?

Trackbacks

  1. Simple Tomato Sauce (Gluten-Free) « ATX Gluten-Free

Leave a Reply

