Skip to content

Spaghetti Squash Carbonara (Gluten-Free)

November 30, 2010

Simple dishes bring a smile to my face. Not just because they are easy to make, but sometimes the simplest dishes have the most flavor. Spaghetti carbonara is a perfect example of a simple dish with loads of flavor. A classic Italian dish, this crowd pleaser is normally made with glutenous pasta. To celebrate the flavors of fall, I thought it would be a brilliant idea to use spaghetti squash. Spaghetti squash is naturally gluten-free, grain-free, lower in calories and carbohydrates. It is a simple vegetable that is great with tomato sauce, pesto, butter and maple syrup (yes!), and now carbonara style. I don’t know about you, but I can never turn down a dish with bacon, eggs and cheese.

Spaghetti Squash Carbonara

Serves 2-4

Ingredients:

  • 1 large spaghetti squash
  • extra virgin olive oil
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon black pepper
  • 4 slices bacon
  • 1 small shallot, minced
  • 5-6 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 teaspoon balsamic vinegar
  • 1/2 cup parmesan cheese
  • large handful Italian parsley, rough chop
  • 1 egg per person, poached or fried

Instructions:

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F. Slice spaghetti squash in half and scoop out seeds. Place on baking sheet with inside of squash facing up. Drizzle olive oil over squash and sprinkle with salt and pepper. Bake in oven at 375 for 1 hour, or until squash easily shreds like spaghetti. Once time is completed, shred inside of squash with forks. Place in large bowl.

While squash is baking, brown up slices of bacon in skillet. Remove from heat once crispy and place on paper towel lined plate to absorb fat. Crumble. Keep bacon fat in skillet and saute shallots. Pour teaspoon of vinegar in pan to remove any brown bits. One shallots are translucent, about 6 minutes, add in garlic and saute for 2 minutes. Pour shallot-garlic mixture over shredded spaghetti squash in bowl. Add in crumbled bacon, parmesan cheese and parsley. Mix to join all ingredients. Adjust seasonings, if needed.

Top spaghetti squash carbonara with a fried egg or poached egg. I used an over-medium fried egg. Serve warm.

Enjoy!

This post is linked to Slightly Indulgent Tuesday.

Don’t miss a recipe or ATX Gluten-Free News segment. Sign up for my RSS feed today, or follow me on Facebook and Twitter.

***Exciting Announcement!***

I am thrilled to be nominated in two categories for the Austin Blogger Awards. There are so many wonderful Austin bloggers; it is an honor to be included in this talented group.

I am nominated in the categories: *Best Specialty Food Blog* and *Best Food Blog for Restaurant Reviews*.

Edit December 9, 2010: Voting is closed.

Thank you for your votes and support!

This post is a featured recipe on Foodpress.

15 Comments leave one →
  1. November 30, 2010 7:07 pm

    Wow, this not only sounds good, it looks divine! Now, off to vote! I don’t live in Austin, but your blog rocks my world!

    • ATXglutenfree permalink*
      November 30, 2010 7:37 pm

      Thank you so much Theresa. You made my day! 🙂 I appreciate your vote also. Let me know if you try this recipe. It is awesome!!!

  2. December 9, 2010 5:22 pm

    I could eat spaghetti every single day..7 days of the week..

  3. December 9, 2010 6:30 pm

    I’ve never made spaghetti squash, but have been meaning to give it a whirl. I love simple dishes too, and this one looks fabulous. I especially like the fried egg on top — yum.

    • ATXglutenfree permalink*
      December 9, 2010 7:02 pm

      Thank you! It is so good. I believe I have made it 3-4 times since I wrote that blog post 🙂

  4. December 9, 2010 8:42 pm

    And now I know what I’m making for dinner… I have a spaghetti squash that needs to be eaten, anyways! Thanks for the inspiration 🙂

  5. December 9, 2010 11:21 pm

    yumm! that looks so good! The egg really tops it off!

  6. December 11, 2010 4:33 pm

    Wow! Looks fantastic!!! I love spaghetti squash, and this is a fun way to eat it!

  7. December 13, 2010 9:11 am

    I was never a fan of food without meat on it but this one I would really love to eat, the flavours on those recipe are simply amazing and matches well together

    Raymund
    http://angsarap.wordpress.com

  8. December 13, 2010 11:44 pm

    Looks fantastic. Love the idea of throwing the egg on top.

    • ATXglutenfree permalink*
      December 15, 2010 9:48 pm

      Thank you! I think the egg was my favorite part 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Spaghetti Squash | Balance and Blueberries
  2. Spaghetti Squash Carbonara (Gluten-Free) « The Hands We Hold

Leave a Reply

