Skip to content

Roasted Red Bell Pepper Sauce

January 24, 2011

Looking for a sauce that will jazz up your chicken or pasta dish? Look no further than this roasted red bell pepper sauce. I’m pretty sure it is my new favorite. I was actually eating it by the spoonful when my boyfriend (known as Chris from here on out) wasn’t looking. No, I am not kidding. We have been testing pizza recipes non-stop here in the ATX Gluten-Free kitchen. It was time for a change of pace this weekend, so we turned to America’s favorite animal protein (chicken), and took it to the next level. This sauce did just that, and I was actually excited to eat leftovers the next day. It seems with leftovers, you either love them or you hate them. This time I loved them!

Roasted Red Bell Pepper Sauce:

Makes 1 1/2 cups

Ingredients:

  • 2 red bell peppers
  • 3 tablespoons butter
  • 1 tablespoon extra virgin olive oil
  • 1/4 cup parmesan
  • 2 garlic cloves
  • 1/4 teaspoon pepper
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt

Instructions:

Start by slicing off the tops of the bed peppers and pulling out rims and seeds. Begin roasting the bell peppers either in the oven (high broil, turning periodically to char all sides), or directly over burner on stove top (char lightly all sides). Place roasted bell peppers in bowl, cover with saran wrap and let stand for 5 minutes. In a food processor, combine bell peppers with char on (for rustic flavor) or off, and the remaining ingredients. Pulse till a smooth consistency.

Enjoy!

Don’t miss a recipe or ATX Gluten-Free News segment. Sign up for my RSS feed today, or follow me on Facebook and Twitter.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. January 24, 2011 11:48 pm

    Looks and sounds delicious!

  2. Marsha permalink
    January 25, 2011 12:39 am

    This sauce sounds yummy. It looks so easy as well. I think I will try it with some boneless chicken this week.

    • ATXglutenfree permalink*
      February 3, 2011 10:41 pm

      Hi Marsha- how did the sauce turn out?

  3. January 25, 2011 2:26 am

    All I can say is Yumm 🙂

  4. January 25, 2011 2:36 am

    I once made a pasta sauce with red peppers similar to this. Yours looks beautiful.

  5. January 26, 2011 4:30 pm

    So I have been seeing reference to your blog here and there.. and I want to say we are friends on Twitter. BUT today is my first time actually stopping by for a visit.. And Im SO excited that I did. What a great site this is!! So many amazing recipes. I just bookmarked this Red Pepper Sauce.. it sounds wonderful and I cant wait to try it on some pizza 🙂

    Also- just thought to invite you to participate in a weekly event I host titled Seasonal Sundays. It features of course recipes containing Seasonal ingredients. (Something Im seriously passionate about!)
    I’ll be back soon to see what you are up to 🙂
    xo, Brittany

    • ATXglutenfree permalink*
      February 3, 2011 10:39 pm

      Thanks Brittany! That is sweet 🙂 Seasonal Sundays sounds like a great event. Will check it out!

  6. January 31, 2011 3:46 pm

    You might also try throwing in walnuts when you put it in the food processor, it adds a great flavor.

    • ATXglutenfree permalink*
      February 3, 2011 10:38 pm

      That is a good idea. I bet the walnuts add a nice flavor dimension. Thanks for the tip!

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Roasted Red Bell Pepper Sauce « ATX Gluten-Free -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

